William Van Heyningen Awarded 2023 Fulton County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship

William Van Heyningen Awarded 2023 Fulton County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship

The Fulton County Community Foundation, fund affiliate of the Northern Indiana Community Foundation (NICF), is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2023 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship for Fulton County – William Van Heyningen of Rochester Community High School. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars are known for their community involvement, academic achievement, character, and leadership.

William is the son of Michael and Amanda Van Heyningen and plans to study Secondary Education to become a history teacher. He’s involved in soccer, band, tri-ep, National Honors Society, cross county, golf, and many other school clubs and activities in which he has received a multitude of honors and awards. Throughout William’s high school years, he’s spent many hours volunteering at the First Christian Church of Rochester as a youth group event leader, church videographer, and helped prepare and serve free community meals.

“Will is a well-rounded young man,” said Fulton County Community Foundation Director of Development Brian Johnson. “His academic performance combined with community involvement are an example of how today’s students have already begun to impact our community.”

Each Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years. The scholarship is for undergraduate students studying on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars may also participate in the Lilly Scholars Network (LSN), which connects both current scholars and alumni with resources and opportunities to be active leaders on their campuses and in their communities. Both the scholarship program and LSN are supported by grants from Lilly Endowment to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) and Indiana Humanities.

In determining Fulton County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholar(s), the committee assesses a multitude of criteria, including high academic performance and community involvement. After the field of applicants was narrowed down, nominees were submitted to ICI, the statewide administrator of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program, which approves the final selection of scholarship recipients.

“Will is a hard-working, energetic, and passionate student. He is a leader in the band and creative arts and can be depended on to lead by example and inspire others,” said Stephanie Brown, Rochester Community High School Counselor.

Lilly Endowment created the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program for the 1998-99 school year and has supported the program every year since with grants totaling in excess of $486 million. More than 5,000 Indiana students have received the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship since the program’s inception.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are: 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

The 2023 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship finalists include Kallie Watson, Brayden Zink, Macie Nelson, and Alivia Paul, who will receive $1,000 scholarships from the Fulton County Community Foundation.