golf outings

Miami County


News & Events

7th Annual Robert Larrison Memorial Golf Outing

Bob Larrison

Wildcat Creek Golf Course

3200 Timber Valley Dr., Kokomo, IN 46902


If you have been before you know what a great time it is, if you haven't been able to join it is never too late to start. The family appreciates the time with friends and family to reminisce/remember Bob and share stories. You also don't have to be a great golfer (or even good)! Some people come enjoy the day and join us for dinner and don't even golf.

Since 2009, we have been able to awarded 11 scholarships totaling $10,000 with the funds raised for the Robert Larrison Memorial Fund! Thank you all who have contributed and for helping us keep dad's memory alive.

When:Saturday September 12, 2015 with a 1:30pm shotgun start.

Where:Wildcat Creek Golf Course, 3200 Timber Valley Dr., Kokomo, IN 46902

Event Highlights:Registration starts at 12:30pm with a prompt 1:30pm Shotgun Start Dinner and awards/prizes immediately following (5:30ish).

$60 per single $220 per foursome
Price Includes:

• 18 holes of golf with cart
• Entry into the hole in one contest, closest to the pin and longest drive.
• Catered meal provided.

Come join the Larrison family for golf, awards/prizes, great food and fun! See registration page for details, hole sponsorship and “dinner only” pricing.

There are a couple of options on how to pay;

Option 1: Please mail check to Northern Indiana Community Foundation, P.O. Box 807, Rochester, IN 46975 (notate Larrison NP fund)

Please include the complete registration form.

Option 2: On the left side of this page your can contribute by doing the following:

  • Click on "Make a Donation" on the left hand side of the page
  • Click on "General Donation"
  • Under "Type of Gift" where is says "Please Include Your Fund Designation (required)" enter into this section all relevant info so that we know what you are paying for ie single golfer, foursome- please include names of your teammates, eating only, sponsoring a hole or making an additional donation.
  • Click "Donate"
  • You then can complete your transaction by entering your credit card info or using your paypal account

If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact Amy Larrison via

We look forward to seeing everyone!

The Larrison Family

msword Download Registration

Successful 5k Walk/Run Builds Community Funds for Miami County

Beginning of the walk
1st Female Runner- Allysha Brown 25.32
1st Male Runner- Alex Kuepper 20.33

- More than sixty walkers and runners turned out for the First Annual J.U.G. Walk/Run during the Peru Circus City Festival on July 18th 2015.

Jessica Monnot, a sophomore at IU Kokomo, started the memorial event to give back to the community and celebrate the life of local physician James U. Guthrie, who devoted himself to the practice of General Surgery.

“I received the James U. and Betsy Guthrie Health Scholarship when I graduated from North Miami High School in 2014,” said Monnot. “I called the Community Foundation because the scholarship came through their organization. I wanted to know if they could point me in the right direction for showing my appreciation,” Monnot continued.

Jay Albright, Executive Director of the Northern Indiana Community Foundation took the call from Monnot. “It was a neat conversation. It’s not every day that one of our scholarship recipients wants to raise money for our foundation,” said Albright, who explained to Jessica that now there is a dollar for dollar match for Community Funds. Albright added, “I told her that if she would direct her fundraising efforts to Community Funds, she would make an even bigger impact in the community.”

The matching opportunity is due to an incentive from Lilly Endowment Inc., an Indianapolis-based private philanthropic foundation that provides support to the network of community foundations in Indiana. Currently the Lilly Endowment is providing a $1 for $1, matching opportunity through GIFT VI, an initiative that will significantly increase Miami County Community Foundation’s grantmaking capability to local charitable organizations.

There has not been a walk/run event at the Peru Circus City Festival for a couple of years, and Monnot thought this might be the time to bring back the popular race, and raise money for the Community Foundation in memory of Dr. Guthrie. The effort got a boost from a number of sponsors including, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Schneider Electric Square D, Miami-Cass REMC, Dobbs Legal Group, LLC, Yesterday’s Elegance, Conner Sawmill, Joe McMillan with State Farm Insurance, and Monnot’s Residential Services.

Nearly $30,000, was raised through donations, sponsorships, and event fees, including the prospective Lilly Endowment grant dollars. The Guthrie Family Community Fund has been created at the Community Foundation with the race proceeds, and the fund will provide grant dollars to local charitable organizations in 2016.

“I would just like to thank everyone for their help in organizing the event,” said Jessica. “Without the support and guidance from all our volunteers, this race would not have been possible,” she continued, “I give thanks to the Community Foundation and all they do to better our community and for allowing me to work with them towards this common goal. I look forward to an even better race next year.”

1st Female Walker- Marianne Wilson 37.27
1st Male Walker- Stephen Wilson 36.47

The top finishers for the event:

  • 1st Male Runner- Alex Kuepper 20.33
  • 1st Female Runner- Allysha Brown 25.32
  • 1st Male Walker- Stephen Wilson 36.47
  • 1st Female Walker- Marianne Wilson 37.27