Fulton County


Community Foundation Holds Ice Cream Social for Graduates

– Nearly $99,000 and 47 scholarships were awarded to 117 students through the Fulton County Community Foundation (FCCF). With the addition of Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships for four local students, this brings the total awarded for 2016/2017 to over $196,000. The first of these four students was awarded the Lilly Endowment Scholarship in 2013, and the final student, Elizabeth Good, is the 2016 recipient of the award.

The scholarships were celebrated with ice cream from “Sallie's by the Shore” on a sunny, breezy afternoon at the Round Barn Golf Club at Mill Creek on Tuesday, June 22, 2016. The event provided an opportunity for scholars to meet and thank the donors who made their scholarships possible.

Brian Johnson, Donor of Development for the FCCF thanked the donors who created the scholarship opportunities for students, and wished students all the best on the upcoming semester ahead.

Summer scholarship opportunities are available and applications can be found below. For information, contact the Northern Indiana Community Foundation at 574-223-2227, or call Brian Johnson at the Fulton County Community Foundation at 574-224-3223.

Graduate School Scholarships Available
Deadline is July 1, 2016

The Frederick Rakestraw Law Scholarship

Frederick Rakestraw graduated from Indiana University School of Law in 1949 which was the beginning of 53 years in the legal profession. He practiced in Akron for 5 years and in 1954 was elected Fulton County Circuit Judge where he served for 12 years. In 1966 he served on the Indiana Supreme Court. From 1967 until his retirement in 2002, he practiced law, first in Plymouth, then in Rochester Indiana.

Applicants must have been residents of Fulton County, Indiana for at least three years during their high school career, accepted into a graduate program, enrolled in any school of law in the United States and have a cumulative GPA of 2.25.

The deadline for the scholarship is July 1, 2016 for all first time applicants.

Frederick Rakestraw Law Scholarship app

Frederick Rakestraw Law Scholarship app


The Ginger Miller Higher Education Fund Scholarship

The Ginger Miller Higher Education Fund Scholarship fund was created to provide scholarships for qualified college graduates who are pursuing graduate or professional school degrees. 

In order to apply for this scholarship, applicants must be residents of Fulton County, Indiana, deserving of financial assistance, currently accepted into a graduate or professional study program, and must have graduated from college with a “B” or higher cumulative GPA.  

The application deadline date is July 1, 2016.

Ginger Miller Higher Education Fund Scholarship app

Ginger Miller Higher Education Fund Scholarship app


Fulton County Summer Scholarship application

Back Home Again in Indiana Scholarship

Specifically for Non- traditional students. A Non-Traditional Student is defined as one who did NOT begin their college immediately upon the completion of their high school career, but rather is one who graduated from high school or received their GED and delayed the entrance into college.

The fund is designed to give preference to non-traditional students who wish to further their education and/or training as a way of enhancing their employment skills.

Qualified recipients include adult students who wish to re-enter the job market, advance in their current field, or enter the job market for the first time after hardship circumstances, such as divorce, health complications involving family members, loss of employment, or other obstacles. This scholarship also supports students who are invested in their communities as well as working towards a college degree

Fulton County 4Community Higher Education Scholarship

Established by the Fulton County 4Community Partners to promote higher education for GED program participants.

For Fulton County residents who are GED recipients. Must be accepted into an accredited college, university, trade or Vocational school in Indiana and have earned a minimum average standard score of 520 on the GED exam.  Special consideration may be given to a student with a below average standard score of 520 if they have a written request from their GED instructor to accept the student’s application.

 The application deadline date is July 8, 2016.

Summer Scholarship application packet

Summer Scholarship application packet


Eric E. Smoker Memorial Scholarship

Provides scholarships for students seeking a degree in fine or graphic arts, art education or art history. The scholarship supports students majoring in painting, sculpture, drawing and architecture. Students' whose major is in the area of music, literature, drama or dance are not eligible.

Students must be graduates of a Fulton County High School and currently enrolled in their junior or senior year in college and maintain a 2.5 cumulative GPA. Also included are non-traditional students attending college for the first time.   Must be residents of Fulton County and submit a portfolio containing a minimum of five pieces of actual art work or quality photographs of their artwork. Must be majoring painting, sculpture, drawing and architecture. Special consideration will be made to handicapped students.

The application deadline date is July 29, 2016.

Eric E. Smoker Memorial Scholarship app

Eric E. Smoker Memorial Scholarship app

Fulton County Community Foundation Preschool Scholarships
Application available for download

Download the application

Fulton County Preschool app

Fulton County Preschool app

The NICF is in the third year of a partnership with local preschools, schools and other organizations,to offer preschool scholarships for the children of Fulton, Miami and Starke Counties.

The goal of the program is to make one year of preschool education affordable to every child in our counties. Need-based scholarships are available to families of four-year-old children.

Many people underestimate the importance of preschool education. The expectations of what a child entering kindergarten should know have risen dramatically in recent years and local children who arrive for kindergarten unprepared often have difficulty catching up to their peers.

Eighty-five percent of a child’s brain growth happens by the age of five, and children who attend preschool are more likely to read at grade level, graduate from high school, and continue on to secondary education.

Rigorous studies have shown that for every dollar invested in early childhood education programs for low-income children, between $4 and $9 is returned to the community.

These financial returns come in the form of reduced special education costs, less grade repetition in schools, better job preparedness and a greater ability to meet future labor force demands, higher incomes due to higher educational attainment, fewer welfare payments, and lower criminal casualties and prison costs.

“It’s clear that investing in early childhood education leads to long-term community benefits that would be unwise to ignore,” says NICF Executive Director Jay Albright.

For more information about the scholarship program, contact corinne@nicf.org. To contribute, visit the Giving Connection to invest in the Preschool Scholarship Program for Fulton County children.